Skip to content

Posts tagged ‘Beach Fossils’


Fresh Track: Dive “How Long Have You Known?”

In January we featured Beach Fossils guitarist Zachary Cole Smith’s side project Dive with a video of their Newtown Sessions.  Following a slew of 7” releases throughout late 2011 and the early part of this year that included initial hit “Sometime” along with “Human” and “Geist”, we finally were treated to their debut album details late last week along with another single, “How Long Have You Known?” which you can listen to below.

My affinity for Dive’s work grows with each song I hear and I can honestly say that this is the number one album I am looking forward to in 2012.  With the jangly guitars and hazed out vocals, each and every song they create has a unique vibe to it that allows the listener to get truly lost in the sound.  The album is entitled Oshin and will be released via Captured Tracks on 6-26-12.  Below is the tracklist.

1. (Druun)
2. Past Lives
3. Human
4. Air Conditioning
5. How Long Have You Known?
6. Wait
7. Earthboy
8. (Druun pt. ii)
9. Follow
10. Sometime
11. Oshin (Subsume)
12. Doused
13. Home

Written by Greg Dahman


Fresh Track: Beach Fossils “Shallow”

Brooklynites and Thought on Tracks favorites Beach Fossils released their first single since their acclaimed 2011 EP What A Pleasure this week.  The song is called “Shallow” and will be released on a 7” February 21st via Captured Tracks along with another new track called “Lessons”.  The song, which you can check out below, is the similar hazy, dream pop we’ve come to expect from the guys, and to me, that’s a very good thing.  Rumored to be working on their sophomore LP currently, if this track didn’t make the cut, we are surely in for something great on the next album.

Connect with Beach Fossils via Facebook | Twitter

Written by Greg Dahman


Video: Dive – Newtown Sessions

Dive is the side project of Beach Fossils guitarist Zachary Cole Smith who takes up front man duties along with fellow members Devin Perez, Andrew Bailey, and Colby Hewitt.  The sound is a similar to Beach Fossils in that it still brings a hazy, dreamlike vibe over lo-fi, but there’s a much harder, faster paced guitar driving the songs.  Following the 2011 trend of “going to Walden Pond” to hone your artistic craft, Zachary Cole is said to have settled into a wooden room sans running water and air conditioning in the steaming Brooklyn summer to work on his music.  With these results, it’s hard to argue with the guy…this sound is right where it needs to be.  The video below is a look at three tracks by the band in a live studio session at Newtown Radio.  Frankly, if you don’t enjoy it, we probably couldn’t listen to music together.

Dive has two 7” records currently out, Sometime and Human, which you can purchase on the band’s label, Captured Tracks.  The debut, currently untitled, EP from the band is presently slated for a March release. Watch their trio of songs “Sometime”, “Wait” and “Untitled” below:

Connect with Dive via Facebook

Written by Greg Dahman