Skip to content

Posts tagged ‘Zachary Cole Smith’


Album Review: DIIV ‘Oshin’

A close friend recently told me that I was the most impatient person that they had ever met. As I searched for a rebuttal, I slowly came to grips with the new infamous title.  I wanted to flip this perception immediately; however, I understood this was going to be a work in progress.  After attempting to master the deep breath, battling to find an adult bedtime, and lowering my caffeine intake to a reasonable level, I begin to find regular calmness.  Like most instances I turn to music and try to find ways to connect the dots. While I continue to look for areas of enhancement, I immediately dial in on a certain absentminded, musical genre that has completely influenced my train of thought this year.  Releases by Beach House, Grimes, and Chairlift have helped relieve my intolerance by providing a powerful ease through the textures and moods that they focus on.  Existential in nature, dream-pop has emerged as my elixir to during experiences when calmness does not come quickly.  The latest delicate disposition is DIIV’s debut release Oshin. After several spins I have found an additional record to lean on to help me keep track of my tranquility.

Zachary Cole Smith may not be household name amongst independent music circles, but I begin to classify his work among the top tier of mood changing guitarists in my rotation. When I put on Beach Fossils’ EP, What a Pleasure last year I quickly realized that Smith was a mood master. Songs like “Calyer” help to showcase Smith’s ability to highlight otherworldly textures through his guitar playing. His style has etched a path in my brain that demands attention while offering an exit to ease. His direction in Beach Fossils provides me with my first dose, while his introspective melodic playing on Oshin helps to proactively numb impatient nerves.

Smith recorded this project in his bedroom with no Internet. The intimacy with these unplugged intentions builds immediate appreciation as I sink into this release.  His cracking melodies provide comfort almost effortlessly. Words appear to be subtle whispers throughout this record.  The blurry lyrical perspective hides behind the melody, but also endorses many compliments to this dim 13-track release.  The embedded, transposition that bassist, Devin Ruben Perez brings to the project is immediately noted in opening instrumental, “(Druun)”.  Former Smith Westerns drummer, Colby Hewitt, provides perfect structure around Smith’s childhood friend, Andrew Bailey’s guitar magic.  The record serves as a silhouette where each band member’s style helps to blur the line.

DIIV might come across to the listener as comfortable, but I find tracks like “Human” a bit unsettling. This song is true to the foundation of Oshin, but yearns for more with their most aggressive approach.  The addition of songs “Sometime” and “Doused” promote Smith’s vision to captivate and build lightly.  The insinuating approach that Smith subtly conveys throughout Oshin contentedly challenges the listeners’ experience.  Send off, “Home” serves as the perfect lullaby and a last layer to rest my thoughts on. This record’s ambiguity is amplified with each play, while inviting the listener into a comfortable distraction.

The rise in my own personal connection with dream-pop could not have come at a better time. Each new release offers additional mesmerizing textures that display patience.  Albums like Oshin are perfect for anyone looking for a change in musical perception and self-reflection. A familiar feeling of uneasiness sets in as I impatiently think about a follow-up only a week after its release…a work in progress.

Connect with DIIV via Facebook | Twitter

Written by Brett McGrath


Fresh Track: DIIV “Doused”

A name is nothing. I don’t really give a fuck what the band is called.”

Dive is no longer.  Now it’s DIIV.  Zachary Cole Smith’s side project keeps churning songs that make my ears smile, so you know I’m going to keep covering the band.  The name change came out of respect for an early 90’s Belgium band with the same moniker, and as Smith’s quote above says, it doesn’t really matter.  It’s about the sound.I can’t wait for this album.  If you’re new to Thought on Tracks and have no idea what I’m talking about, you can check out my previous posts on the group, which include “How Long Have You Known” and their first tracks “Sometime” and “Wait” from their Newtown Sessions.  Check out the latest snippet from the new album, “Doused” below.

Connect with DIIV via Facebook

Written by Greg Dahman


Fresh Track: Dive “How Long Have You Known?”

In January we featured Beach Fossils guitarist Zachary Cole Smith’s side project Dive with a video of their Newtown Sessions.  Following a slew of 7” releases throughout late 2011 and the early part of this year that included initial hit “Sometime” along with “Human” and “Geist”, we finally were treated to their debut album details late last week along with another single, “How Long Have You Known?” which you can listen to below.

My affinity for Dive’s work grows with each song I hear and I can honestly say that this is the number one album I am looking forward to in 2012.  With the jangly guitars and hazed out vocals, each and every song they create has a unique vibe to it that allows the listener to get truly lost in the sound.  The album is entitled Oshin and will be released via Captured Tracks on 6-26-12.  Below is the tracklist.

1. (Druun)
2. Past Lives
3. Human
4. Air Conditioning
5. How Long Have You Known?
6. Wait
7. Earthboy
8. (Druun pt. ii)
9. Follow
10. Sometime
11. Oshin (Subsume)
12. Doused
13. Home

Written by Greg Dahman