Skip to content

Posts tagged ‘Dive’


Fresh Track: DIIV “Doused”

A name is nothing. I don’t really give a fuck what the band is called.”

Dive is no longer.  Now it’s DIIV.  Zachary Cole Smith’s side project keeps churning songs that make my ears smile, so you know I’m going to keep covering the band.  The name change came out of respect for an early 90’s Belgium band with the same moniker, and as Smith’s quote above says, it doesn’t really matter.  It’s about the sound.I can’t wait for this album.  If you’re new to Thought on Tracks and have no idea what I’m talking about, you can check out my previous posts on the group, which include “How Long Have You Known” and their first tracks “Sometime” and “Wait” from their Newtown Sessions.  Check out the latest snippet from the new album, “Doused” below.

Connect with DIIV via Facebook

Written by Greg Dahman


Fresh Track: Dive “How Long Have You Known?”

In January we featured Beach Fossils guitarist Zachary Cole Smith’s side project Dive with a video of their Newtown Sessions.  Following a slew of 7” releases throughout late 2011 and the early part of this year that included initial hit “Sometime” along with “Human” and “Geist”, we finally were treated to their debut album details late last week along with another single, “How Long Have You Known?” which you can listen to below.

My affinity for Dive’s work grows with each song I hear and I can honestly say that this is the number one album I am looking forward to in 2012.  With the jangly guitars and hazed out vocals, each and every song they create has a unique vibe to it that allows the listener to get truly lost in the sound.  The album is entitled Oshin and will be released via Captured Tracks on 6-26-12.  Below is the tracklist.

1. (Druun)
2. Past Lives
3. Human
4. Air Conditioning
5. How Long Have You Known?
6. Wait
7. Earthboy
8. (Druun pt. ii)
9. Follow
10. Sometime
11. Oshin (Subsume)
12. Doused
13. Home

Written by Greg Dahman


Video: Dive – Newtown Sessions

Dive is the side project of Beach Fossils guitarist Zachary Cole Smith who takes up front man duties along with fellow members Devin Perez, Andrew Bailey, and Colby Hewitt.  The sound is a similar to Beach Fossils in that it still brings a hazy, dreamlike vibe over lo-fi, but there’s a much harder, faster paced guitar driving the songs.  Following the 2011 trend of “going to Walden Pond” to hone your artistic craft, Zachary Cole is said to have settled into a wooden room sans running water and air conditioning in the steaming Brooklyn summer to work on his music.  With these results, it’s hard to argue with the guy…this sound is right where it needs to be.  The video below is a look at three tracks by the band in a live studio session at Newtown Radio.  Frankly, if you don’t enjoy it, we probably couldn’t listen to music together.

Dive has two 7” records currently out, Sometime and Human, which you can purchase on the band’s label, Captured Tracks.  The debut, currently untitled, EP from the band is presently slated for a March release. Watch their trio of songs “Sometime”, “Wait” and “Untitled” below:

Connect with Dive via Facebook

Written by Greg Dahman